A Star Is Born review from a skeptical viewer

When the news of Bradley Cooper’s directional debut dropped, I have to admit I wasn’t that excited. Maybe because I felt it’s going to be the same story with nothing new to add.

Then scrolling down my Instagram feed I hear a part of the “Look what I found” track and there was something about it. So I decided to listen to the rest of the songs like “Shallow” “Alibi” and got genuinely intrigued.

After watching the film, I was happy to be proven wrong about my initial thoughts on the movie.

Bradley Cooper surprises with his amazing vocals and guitar work and as someone who’s always a fan of Lady Gaga, it was exciting to see her portrayal, vulnerability, and sheer talent of her character Ally.

Aside from being a talented actor Cooper proved himself as a great director in his debut, the angles of the camera and the lighting were extremely aesthetic.

Although the story of the film has been around for decades and was remade in Hollywood several times, even twice in Bollywood there was a nuance to cooper’s take on it.

Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga had great chemistry on screen and considering this is her first serious acting role.
She sure did a brilliant job but she particularly shined when she was performing.

Also, the exceptional casting choices for the supporting characters like “Bobby” played by Sam Elliot for instance, and “Ally’s” family and friends really stood out for me.

During the two hours of the feature, you’ll find yourself crying, hoping, laughing as there were some moments of the movie that actually cracked me up so did the rest of the moviegoers.

Overall, this was an excellent cinematic experience filled with great soundtracks and sizzling chemistry and it totally deserves all the hype that has been surrounding it.